top of page
  • Writer's picturemikesummer78

Grateful to be Home

I've been home for just over a week now and couldn't be happier to be here. The recovery process is kind of boring. It involves a lot of sitting and doing nothing, but I have realized that sometimes doing nothing is very important. The more active part of my recovery is to walk at least three times daily, starting at 5 minutes per walk and building up over four weeks to 30+ minute walks.


The first full day back home, I felt pretty good. My pain level was fluctuating from 3-5, which coming from the hospital version of me felt pretty tolerable. It was a beautiful day out, so I easily was able to get in my three walks. The first thing I noticed during my walks was how strong my legs felt; however, because I'm on so much medication right now, my heart is only able to handle so much. This causes me to have to walk pretty slowly, about the pace of a three-year old. It was the perfect day of rest and activity.


Going for a walk with the family

I felt even better the next day as it started, so I was determined to get more out of this day. I got my three walks in easily, but between them I pushed myself to get more done rather than rest. I worked on my writing for this blog and was up and around the house more than I should have been. I paid the price that night as I was in a decent amount more pain that evening than I had been since I came home. I realized then that despite feeling stronger every day, I would still have to get plenty of rest every day.


Since then, every successive day has gotten a little bit easier, a little less painful and a little stronger. I'm off the prescription pain medication and only relying on extra strength Tylenol, which is keeping my pain in the 1-2 range. I've gotten my three daily walks up to 15+ minutes while still being careful not to push it too hard. And perhaps most importantly, I'm making myself take more time to relax and rest. All of my steri strips, bandages and would dressings have been removed and it seems like everything is healing well.


When I wrote the first post for this blog, I had no idea the reaction I would get. I was pretty overwhelmed at the outpouring of love and support from various corners of the world. So many people have held me and my family up with thoughts, prayers, warm vibes and more. I cannot tell you how grateful we have been for all of this.


Our friends and neighbors here in Chicago have been so amazing! They have organized a meal train, helped pick up and drop off the kids at school, invited the kids to play so I could rest, listened to us talk about how things are going and just supported us in any way we need. We are so grateful to be a part of this incredible community and to have so many wonderful friends in our life!

My daily reminder to be grateful

All of our extended family has been there for us every step of the way, doing whatever was asked without question. Taking the kids to and from school and soccer games, staying with them at home while everyone else was with me at the hospital, staying with me at home to help when Vanessa had other obligations to meet, cooking meals, doing the dishes. We are so grateful to have our incredible families be so loving and supportive without fail at this time!


And where would I be with my amazing, incredible wife. It was her urging which led me to schedule an appointment with my doctor. She was at my side in August when we were given the diagnosis, and together we made the tough decision to go the route of bypass surgery. She helped me in the lead up to the surgery prepare both mentally and physically for the work ahead. She was at my side the entire hospital stay to encourage me when I needed it and to hold my hand when the pain was unbearable. She has kept our family running smoothly while I am basically unable to do anything. Clean the dishes, cook our meals, help the kids, get me what I need, walk the dog, and so much more. I cannot even begin to describe how grateful I am for her.


Lastly, I am eternally grateful for the entire staff at Northwestern Memorial Hospital. They detected my heart disease before it was too late. They flawlessly performed the surgery and prepared me for my recovery after it. They have left me with this stunning seven-inch scar which will serve as my daily reminder. A reminder I was given a second chance. A reminder to eat better and exercise daily. A reminder to be grateful for all I have.

277 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page