top of page
  • Writer's picturemikesummer78

Goal50 - May 2019

Month 1 of the Goal50 journey is complete. I really pushed to reach my monthly average goal distance. This is going to be harder than I thought, which is good. There were several hurdles in my way, chief among them was the weather. This past May was the wettest in Chicago's recorded history, with 21 of the 31 days having recordable rainfall. and so far this spring is the second wettest on record.


I need to work on Google Sheet charting skills, but here is 2019. Red is the goal. Blue is my work so far.

I was able to get in 12 runs, logging over 67 miles and 11 hours. I was only able to get on the bike four times, for just over 100 miles, including one devastating ride where I got a flat less than three miles in (of course I didn't have my spare tube with me and the local bike shop I tried walking to was closed). All in all I was able to crank out over 169 miles over 18+ hours of work. If you're interested in diving into my stats, here's the link for the Google sheet I have created. It's pretty vanilla right now, but as time goes on I plan on adding more statistical stuff and charts. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1HG9sRDPehMk5ljY1X6sx9vhuEx9-UpEH7-gij0LKSyI/edit?usp=sharing


June is off to a slow start, as we have an incredibly busy month between social events and youth sports and job search stuff. I am going to have to push hard to get to my monthly goal again. But that's the point of this whole experiment. I have had several days where I wanted to do nothing, but was able to motivate myself to get out the door and do it, which is always the hardest part of exercising. I will not fail. My life literally depends on it.

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page