top of page
  • Writer's picturemikesummer78

Baked Portobello Burgers

I like mushrooms and mushroom sandwiches. The problem is that there is always something lacking for me. I think I am on to something with this one. This is not so much a recipe as it is just a new way to add more flavor to an old vegetarian standby.


Onions on their way to sauteed goodness

As I almost always do with 'bellas, I start with a quick marinade to make this babies nice and juicy. For these I used a balsamic vinaigrette that was languishing in the fridge mixed with some worcestershire sauce (I know, I know...not vegan), but you can really use any kind of marinade you want (fat, acid and umami are what you're looking for).


Fill up those beautiful 'bellas with your onions

To boost the flavor, I thought it would be a good idea to have some heavily sauteed, borderline caramelized, onions and put them in the cap cavity. And what would make these better?!? Cheese, of course! I opted for some Follow Your Heart brand gouda. Probably a little heavy on the saturated fat, so if you're really trying to stay healthy (which I should have been but oh well) leave the cheese off.


Follow Your Heart vegan cheese melts pretty nicely

Then top these suckers with whatever burger toppings you like. We went for avocado, tomato, pickle, and hot giardiniera. This is a sloppy beast, so you'd be wise to cut it in half. Make sure you have plenty of napkins on hand!


Finished product. Get some napkins.

Makes 4 sandwiches


3 Tbsp balsamic vinaigrette (or whatever vinaigrette like dressing you like)

1 Tbsp worcestershire sauce (soy sauce will work also)

4 medium to large portobello caps, stems and gills removed

1 large white onion

1 Tbsp olive oil

cheese for melting (optional)


1. Combine vinaigrette and worcestershire and marinate mushrooms in a bowl or large ziplock bag for 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 425.

2. Slice onion into 1/4 inch thick slices. Add oil to medium pan and heat over medium heat. Sautee onions, stirring occasionally, until nearly caramelized.

3. Place mushrooms gill-side down on a baking sheet. Bake for about 8-10 minutes, releasing juices, until mushrooms start to soften to the touch in the center.

4. Remove pan from oven and switch oven to broil. Turn mushrooms over and put sauteed onions in cap cavities. Top with optional cheese.

5. Broil for about 2 minutes, until cheese is melted or onions are slightly more caramelized.

6. Make your sandwich and enjoy! I like avocado, tomato, pickles and hot giardiniera for my toppings.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page